Thank You for Helping to Recognize Our Teachers

We're currently surprising some of this year's Citadel Heart of Learning Award winners and the full list of winners will be announced in May. Follow along on Instagram (@CitadelBanking) to see if your favorite teacher could be next!

Citadel Heart of Learning Award

At Citadel Credit Union, we’re committed to serve those who work every day to build a better future for us all. That’s why every year, we honor teachers across the Greater Philadelphia area in Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Lancaster and Philadelphia counties with the Citadel Heart of Learning Award. The program was founded over 23 years ago in partnership with the Chester County Intermediate Unit (CCIU) and remains one of our longest standing initiatives, which recognizes local teachers who show dedication in and out of the classroom. This year, we're giving a total of $60,000 to some of the best teachers in the region, along with our treasured glass heart award for each winner. The full list of this year's winners will be announced in May 2024..

How to Submit a Nomination:

All too often, teachers are unsung heroes. If you know a teacher who goes above and beyond the call of duty, share their story and how they’ve impacted your life or a student’s life. You can submit a written nomination form online, a video nomination, or email us at To submit a video nomination you can create a post on TikTok, Instagram, or Facebook and tag us @citadelcreditunion on TikTok or @CitadelBanking on Instagram and Facebook with the hashtag #CitadelHeartofLearning. Just make sure your video shows us exactly why your teacher should be nominated.

 23 years citadel and the CCIU have been recognizing teachers400+ teachers honored $410,000 awarded in teacher grants

Citadel Heart of Learning Award 2022-23 Winners

Grand Prize Winners

Citadel Heart of Learning Award

William Langhorne - Avon Grove High School

William Langhorne has been a high school mathematics teacher in the Avon Grove school district for over 15 years. He is also the high school cross country coach. Within the classroom, he is an excellent teacher always ready to give up his free periods to help students gain a better understanding of what is being taught. As a cross country coach, he’s always ready, whether it’s a 5am workout, 7pm race, or organizing a team dinner. We received over 30 nominations from students and teachers that spoke of the attentiveness and dedication he gives to his students and athletes. He is an exceptional educator, mentor, and coach who fosters an environment of respect and kindness.


Citadel Heart of Learning Award

Tanya Prickitt - Colonial Middle School

Tanya Prickitt is a mathematics teacher at Colonial Middle School. She creates lessons that are ever changing and unique. She tries to get her students out of their seats, working in teams, trying new approaches, and finding joy in solving math. She gives up her time endlessly at the end of the day to help kids and never says no when a child needs support. Over the years, she has taken on roles as a team leader and master teacher. Her expertise and approach to learning has helped other teachers grow. She is always the first to help a colleague no matter the concern. We received over 20 nominations for Tanya from parents, fellow teachers, and students.


Citadel Heart of Learning Award

Annie Marie Hunton - Herbert Hoover Elementary School

Ann Marie Hunton is a special education teacher who has been teaching for over three decades. She is kind, caring, and treats all the students like they are her own children. She helps parents navigate behavioral issues and supports the children along the way. Her students know she cares for them and has an interest in their lives. She’s a model educator who truly has an impact on her students.

High School Winners:

  • Gary Schmaltz - Chester Co Technical College HS
  • Wendy DiRico - Conestoga High School
  • Michael Podlesney - Downingtown STEM Academy
  • Fonda Akins - Springfield High School
  • Jessica Anderson - Penncrest High school
  • Brooke Cox - Solanco High School
  • Diane Weintraub - Kohelet Yeshiva High School
  • Gianna Lozzi - George Washington High School
  • Harold Dietrich - Twin Valley High School

Middle School Winners:

  • Christy Marshall Silva - Marsh Creek Sixth Grade Center
  • Meagan Stolnis - Peirce Middle School
  • Michelle Kreger - North Brandywine Middle School
  • Colleen DiMaggio - Southeast Delco School District
  • Dr. Jason Finn - Haverford Middle School
  • Victoria Crawford - Donegal Intermediate School
  • Colleen Cerruti - Murray Ave Middle School
  • Mary Riisen - St. Norbert Middle School
  • Samantha Samuels - West Oak Lane Charter School

Elementary School winners:

  • Jenn Krasna - Charlestown Elementary
  • Krista Troutman - French Creek
  • Kristopher Stevenson - Springton Manor Elementary
  • Linda Farren - Uwchlan Hills Elementary
  • Dani DiNolfi - St. Joseph Downingtown
  • Michele Showalter - Pocopson Elementary
  • Brooke Doyle - Ithan Elementary School
  • Kelly Reiner - Linwood Elementary
  • Megan Hood - Octorara Elementary

Traci Watson Heart Award:

  • Beverly Rusoff - Bala Cynwyd Middle School

Learn more about our commitment to the community.

Explore Now

• All nominees must be Pennsylvania-certified active teachers in a Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Lancaster, or Philadelphia county public school or non-public school. Exceptions may include teachers in non-public schools who are not required to be certified, home school teachers, tutors, etc. Retired teachers are eligible as long as retirement date was at max, one year prior to award year.

• For the purpose of the Citadel Heart of Learning Award, a public school shall be defined as a school under the jurisdiction of one of the public school districts listed above and which is publicly funded; employs staff that are required to be certified by the Pennsylvania Department of Education; and meet the policies, rules, and regulations of the Pennsylvania School Code.

• For the purpose of the Citadel Heart of Learning Award, Charter schools and home schools are categorized as non-public schools.

• For the purpose of the Citadel Heart of Learning Award, cyber school teachers will be eligible for nomination if the student or parent submitting the nomination resides in one of the aforementioned counties.

• All nominees must provide direct instruction to students in a classroom setting. This includes classroom teachers, subject teachers, certified teaching professionals who provide direct instruction to students, k-12, in a classroom setting, such as a reading specialist, speech therapist, learning support teacher, librarian, etc.